Weather Forecast


AGC grants $58,000 in scholarships

The Education Committee of the Associated General Contractors of North Dakota has awarded 32 scholarships totaling more than $58,000 for the 2018-19 school year.

The scholarships are given to outstanding students with career interests in the construction industry and who are enrolled in North Dakota post-secondary construction programs.

Student recipients include:

Ryan Holte, of East Grand Forks, received the John McCormick Scholarship for $1,500. He is a junior in construction engineering at NDSU.

Sam Novak, Grafton, N.D., received the Diederich Scholarship for $1,500. He is a sophomore in construction management at NDSU.

Trevor Verkuehlen, Arvilla, N.D., senior in construction management at NDSU, received the Lindberg Construction Scholarship for $1,500.

James Hunter, Cavalier, N.D., freshman in construction management at NDSU, received the Mayo Construction Scholarship for $1,500.

Nathan McClenahen, Hillsboro, N.D., freshman in construction engineering at NDSU, received the AGC Scholarship for $1,500.

Zac Ranisate, Grand Forks, senior in civil engineering at UND, received full tuition through the Walter I. Swingen Scholarship.

Tanner Anderson, Rolette, N.D., freshman in diesel technology at North Dakota State College of Science, received the AGC Scholarship for $750.

The AGC of North Dakota has awarded about $1 million in scholarships since the program was started.

Red River High School announces awards

Scholarship and award recipients were recognized at an awards presentation event recently at Red River High School.

Students who received awards included:

National Merit Award: Jackson Holm; North Dakota Academic All-State: Isabel Krogh, Francine Shaft, Djavdat Azizov, Nathan Peasland, Sydney Warcup and Sam Schumacher;

North Dakota Distinguished Student Award: Mykaela Zola; Robert Eelkema Scholarship: Sarah Kay; Renaissance Award: Cassidy Mindeman, Betsy Seaver and Gavin Romanick; Rotary Club Scholarship: Emilee Ohman; Sergio Gambucci Scholarship: Morgan Hetletved; Student Council Awards: Chloe Heydt, Shalom Oneyka, Megan Miller, Madeline Kleven, Patrick Janes (NOTE: 'JANES' is correct), Francine Shaft, Cassidy Mindeman and Teresa Mattson; UND Academic Achievement Scholarships: Cole Benjaminson, Matthew Flynn, Brittney Gratton, Andraya Hanson, Morgan Knudsvig, Grace Miller, Ryan Ostermeier, Bethany Ternes, Brady Zimmerman, Samantha DeBeltz, Thomas O'Halloran, Julissa Miller, Taylor Ebertowski and William Raymond; UND Cranley Scholarship: Grace Miller, Nick Stenehjem and McKenzie Meland; UND Ireland Scholarship: Clara Demian and Isabelle Eagan; UND Merit Scholarships: Ben Christian, Henry Fosse, Emily Frahm, Keegan Hofstad, Luana Liang, Madison Musich, Grant Schumacher, Trevor Weiland, Teresa Mattson, Matthew Hjelmstad, Susmita Pokhrel and Betsy Seaver; UND Myra Scholarship: Henry Fosse, Keaton Love, Landon Haagenson, Teresa Mattson and Gavin Romanick; UND Presidential Scholarship: Gavin Romanick, Brendan Watson, Riley Benson, Landon Haagenson, Sarah Kay, Garrett Kovar, Keaton Love, Cassidy Mindeman, Shawn Prusak, Tyler Burian, Ambrosia Hettwer, Tyler Hoffarth, Nathan Peasland, Marco Kojic, Ashley Combs, Brooklyn Hagen and Djavdat Azizov; UND Renaissance Scholarships: Cassidy Mindeman, Betsy Seaver and Gavin Romanick, and Widseth Smith Nolting Scholarship: Cole Stenseth.

Little Red Reading Bus starts rounds

The Little Red Reading Bus is bringing books to children this summer in neighborhoods throughout Grand Forks.

The bus makes one-hour stops weekdays at Lake Agassiz, Ben Franklin and Phoenix elementary schools; the Elks, Kelly, Kiwanis, Masonic, Optimist, Riverside and Sertoma parks; and child care centers.

The Little Red Reading Bus, the result of donations by numerous individuals and businesses, is a collaborative project of the Grand Forks Foundation for Education, Grand Forks Public Schools, Grand Forks Public Library, and the Grand Forks Park District.

It is an effort to inspire children to discover the joy of reading so it becomes a lifelong habit, and to encourage them to maintain or improve their reading skills over the summer, said Emilia Hodgson, executive director of the Grand Forks Foundation for Education.

For more information, including the schedule, go to